top of page
Search
  • marsdilbert

A Caribbean Anachronism

I am originally from Jamaica a nation of 2.7 million, residing in the UK for the past 24 years, like many Caribbean settlers before me, but here’s is where it gets exciting.

My father is of Spanish descent as my grandfather hailed from the Cayman island. I look nothing like my Spanish family.

Then moving over to my mothers family one would immediately think Africa, but oh no my grandmother is a mixture of Chinese and my grandflather with skin like deepest darkest treacle. Hence our Jamaican motto “out of many one people“


My children are half Jewish with British nationality. One born in Jamaica one in the UK. So, when I was asked to be a part of an exhibition about my life as a Caribbean in the UK it was an immediate yes.


This will highlight how I feel about my national identity. Portraits of my artistic appearance mainly in garments from the early 1900s and living in the remote English countryside.


This will held at the @morleygallery in Chelsea London starting with an opening evening May 27th, 2021 through to the end of June. RSVP to be posted soon on Instagram account @life_on_mars96


Caribbean people are the people born in or inhabitants of the Caribbean region or people of Caribbean descent living outside the Caribbean. ... Descendants of the Taino and Kalinago tribes exist today in the Caribbean and elsewhere but are usually of partial Amerindian ancestry.


spring in my home 🌿





50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grateful

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page