top of page
Search
  • marsdilbert

Arts & Craft Movement

Over the years I have straightened my hair, braided, and have had waist length locks for 18 years.

I have often yearned for hats hmmmm...maybe my West Indian roots or just unapologetically self expression.


On a faithful sunny autumn day four years ago I parted company with the visual of my beautiful dreadlocks (It’s still embedded in my heart and will always be.)

So I decided on a path to always embrace my afro hair, and never again feel pressured to fit societies ideology of western beauty

Oh wow! Liberation and freedom of that decision was pretty amazing, a new found form of self love and appreciation for my true self radiates. Of course it takes a lot of work, and creativity to care for my delicate natural hair. Examples. Sleeping on silk, hydration to prevent breakage, and using salt free products.


This leads me to finally embrace my love for hats of all styles, colours and eras.

One of my everyday go to in cooler months is the chic versatile, and underrated French beret.

My abundant collection of which have led me to self embroider a few so they become a personal statement of my true self expression.

Always embrace, enjoy and believe in what you do even when you feel the odds are stacked against you, don’t get unbalanced.


In the mean time I am off to pin my hat.





130 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grateful

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page